Erzgebirge Regional Management, Saxony
Regionalmanagement Erzgebirge
Adam-Ries-Straße 16, D-09456 Annaberg-Buchholz
date: 16.07.2018

Politics | Erzgebirge Regional Management, Saxony


Sprachauswahl Sitemap
You are here:The RegionPolitics

Politics and Administration in the Erzgebirge

Four Turns into One – the Erzgebirge District

With the Saxon District Reform of August 1, 2008, the Aue-Schwarzenberg, Annaberg, Mittlerer Erzgebirgskreis (Central Erzgebirge District) and Stollberg Districts were combined to create the Erzgebirgskreis (Erzgebirge District). By so doing, the common identify that had united Erz Mountain residents for centuries, from Neukirchen to Oberwiesenthal and from Schönheide to Seiffen, was now incorporated into its administrative structure. The capital of the new district is Annaberg-Buchholz.

The Erzgebirge District provides for a rational enlargement of the business and cultural region of the Erzgebirge, and has also made it much more significant. With 377,700 inhabitants, it is the most populous district in eastern Germany. Compared to the rest of Saxony, the Erzgebirge District has one of the greatest densities of industrial enterprises and is among the most important tourism regions.


Regional Management Erzgebirge

Regionalmanagement Erzgebirge
c/o Wirtschaftsförderung Erzgebirge  GmbH
Adam-Ries-Straße 16
D-09456 Annaberg-Buchholz
Tel: +49 3733 145 140
Fax: +49 3733 145 147
Send e-mail

Facts and Figures of the Erzgebirge District*

  • Inhabitants: 377.700
  • Spread of Land in square kilometre: 1.828,36
  • Density of Population: 207 inhabitants/ km2
  • 28 cities and 42 Communities
  • Industrie Density 2008: 76 employees/ per mil inhabitants
  • Intesity of Tourism: 4.436 overnight stays/ per mil inhabitants